Arijit Guha Graduate Student Advocacy Awards

Applications open: Monday, January 11, 2021

Applications close: Monday, February 8, 2021


The Arijit Guha Graduate Student Advocacy Award recognizes ASU graduate students for their involvement, service, research and leadership in advancing a cause through advocacy efforts on all ASU campuses.


Program Information

Who is eligible?
All students enrolled in a graduate or professional program demonstrating excellence in their advocacy efforts to advance a cause at ASU are eligible candidates. Participation in any cause is acceptable. Some examples include hunger, poverty, student debt, education, research funding, open education, human rights, immigrant rights, peace, etc. Advocacy efforts may also involve research programs and projects that emphasize community-improvement.
*Applicants can only receive each award once during the completion of their academic degree.

What is the prize?
The winners of the Arijit Guha Graduate Student Advocacy Awards receive a $750 monetary prize, GPSA-endorsed certificate, recognition on GPSA website and newsletter, and are honored at the Annual Awards Ceremony in Spring 2020.

*Prize amount may vary for International Students due to taxes.

What’s the process?

  • Application: January 13 – February 12

    • All applicants need to submit an online application through Zoom Grants along with a portfolio including a CV and letter of reference (see required documents below) by February 12.
    • Each application will be thoroughly evaluated—in a blind review process—by trained peer-reviewers of the Awards Committee. Their evaluation criteria will consist of (but not be limited to) the efforts, goals, and knowledge of a chosen advocacy subject, as well as its impact on students and the overall community. Consult the applicant rubric for scoring criteria.

Apply Now
Applicant Rubric

  • Decisions: March 23

    • The Awards Committee reaches the final decisions based on the online application and the required documents.
    • GPSA will promptly email award letters to the winners.
    • Winners are awarded $500 prize and a GPSA-endorsed certificate in recognition for their advocacy efforts at the prestigious GPSA Awards Ceremony in Spring 2020.

Application and Required Documents

Online applications are completed through Zoom Grants website. The application consists of questions regarding the efforts, goals, involvement, and advancement of your advocacy subject.

The portfolio (to be uploaded to each individual application) is comprised of the following documents:

  1. An abbreviated CV (no more than 4 pages) focused on service, leadership, and advocacy.  
    • Please do not include your name on the CV, as we maintain a blind review process.
  2. A letter of reference from the community or faculty members
    • Ask your reference to not include your name on the letter, due to the blind review process.



If you have questions, please contact GPSA’s Awards Team (



The Arijit Guha Graduate Student Advocacy Award program is run by the Office of Professional Development, overseen by the Vice President of Professional Development and the Director of Awards.


Brief History

Arijit Guha was an ASU graduate student taken by colon cancer who fought until his last moments to bring awareness to issues concerning the health care system. One of his major accomplishments, the Poopstrong campaign, brought unprecedented attention to the issue of coverage caps in student health care. Led by graduate students at ASU, this initiative raised over $100,000 for his treatment. Upon finding the needed financial coverage, he donated thousands of dollars to local nonprofits and research centers dedicated to fighting cancer. The Arijit Guha Graduate Student Advocacy Award was created to honor his memory.

Past Award Recipients


Francis Agbemade
Janelle Griffo
Zaellotius Wilson


Amin  Sabzehzar
Annabelle Atkin
Arej Mwassi
Christopher Rock
George Brusch IV
Jennapher Lingo VanGilder
Sarra Tekola


Robert Yao
Angeline Young
Jessica Fletcher
Mahshid Zandi
Sue Tham


Carlo Altamirano
Neng Iong Chan
Flora Farago
Tracey Flores
Lisa Reber
Angeline Young


Manuel Gutierrez Ayech


Alicia Dinsmore
Davier Rodriguez
Jaclyn Raymond
Megan Hartman