Centennial Professorship Award

Applications open: Monday, January 13, 2020

Applications close: Monday, February 24, 2020


About the Award

In 1984, the Associated Students of Arizona State University (ASASU) had a vision. They sought to recognize, encourage, and award ASU faculty based on their outstanding leadership and instruction both within and beyond the classroom. The need to attract and retain the highest quality leaders and teachers to our faculty was the catalyst that led to the establishment of the Associated Students Centennial Endowment Fund which allowed the creation of the Centennial Professorship Award.

By acknowledging and promoting these qualities of academic excellence and community service and embeddedness in our faculty, the Centennial Professorship program seeks to encourage all faculty members to continue their innovative educational practices both in and outside the classroom.

The Centennial Professorship Award is very prestigious, and recipients are recognized and announced in April on the GPSA & ASASU website and in the GPSA Awards Ceremony.

What is the award?

The Centennial Professorship Award recognizes faculty on all ASU campuses engaged in scholarship, emerging leadership, dedication to community service, and enrichment of students’ academic experience. 

Who is eligible?

Any faculty who has made significant contributions to the educational development of ASU students through outstanding instruction both in and out of the classroom, and is

    1. engaged in scholarship, in and out of the classroom setting, and who is dedicated to sharing knowledge and skill with the wider community.
    2. esteemed by students as an outstanding teacher due to preparedness and organization of the classes he or she teaches and due to the quality learning environment that this instructor creates through the use of innovative teaching strategies.
    3. known for enthusiastically challenging, motivating, and inspiring students toward academic excellence, but at the same time, succeeds in making difficult material understandable to students.  
    4. able to enjoy and recognize the importance of working with students and enhancing their education out of the classroom, leading them to potential careers, graduate programs, or other opportunities when appropriate.
    5. willing to use the stipend to benefit students through (but not limited to) the betterment of the technology used in instruction or lab, or hiring student assistants.

What is the prize?
Each year three winners are awarded each (1) a cash prize of $5,000 and (2) an additional $5,000 to be used for the benefit of the students in classroom instruction and teaching innovation. For example, this could include upgrading the technology in the classroom or by hiring a teaching assistant. They will receive cross-campus recognition and be honored at the Annual Awards Ceremony in the spring.



Apply:  January 13- February 24

  • Submit the following documents with the application form:
    • A personal statement no longer than 5 pages
    • Curriculum vitae (see required documents below).
    • A letter of support from a student

Evaluation: February 25-March 16, 2019

  • The Centennial Awards Committee, composed of graduate and undergraduate student leaders, evaluates all the materials and reaches the final decisions based on all three components of the online application form.  

Decisions: March 23, 2019

  • GPSA promptly notifies the winners, who then receive their prize.


Application and Required Documents

1. Personal Statement (no longer than 5 pages) that addresses the applicant’s:

  • teaching philosophy;
  • goals for continued teaching development and innovation;
  • contributions to the education of students both in and out of the classroom;
  • involvement with community service (academic/scientific and local);
  • description of the intended uses of the award; 

2. Curriculum Vitae highlighting the applicant’s:

  • relevant teaching activities and professional/academic development;
  • accomplishments and contributions in the field of study;
  • efforts to both mentor ASU students beyond the classroom, and serve in leadership roles in the community (academic/local) that potentially benefit them.

3. Letter of Support from a graduate or undergraduate student:

  • describes how the applicant has contributed to the education of ASU students both within and beyond the classroom;
  • provides specific examples demonstrating the impact on either the students or the academic/local community.

Applicant Rubric



The Centennial Professorship Award program is run by the GPSA Office of Professional Development and the Centennial Awards Committee, in collaboration with Associated Students of Arizona State University (ASASU).  


If you have questions, please contact asasupc@asu.edu  or gpsa.awards@gmail.com

Centennial Professorship Award Past Recipients

2018 Brooke Coley Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Assistant Professor
2018 Justin Jager T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics
Assistant Professor
2018 Barbara S. Smith School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering
2017 Chingwen Cheng The Design School
2017 Wendy Oakes Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
2017 Lindsey Moses Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
2013-2014 Bonnie Wentzel Social & Behavioral Sciences
Alice Daer English Department
2012-2013 Douglas Kelley Social & Behavioral Sciences
Daniel Hruschka School of Human Evolution and Social Change
Sarah Buel College of Law
2011-2012 Aaron Golub School of Sustainability
Cynthia Lietz College Of Public Programs
2010-2011 Calvin Schermerhorn School of History Philosophical, & Religious Studies
George Wolf Chemistry and Biochemistry
2009-2010 Kellie Palazzolo School Of Communication
Christopher Wharton Nutrition Program
2008-2009 David Frakes  

Department of Electrical Engineering/Department of Bioengineering

Susan Beiner School Of Art
2007-2008 Kimberly Scott Educational Leadership and Policy
Guy Cardineau BioDesign/School of Life Sciences
2006-2007 Jennifer Brougham Social & Family Dynamics
Pamela Stewart History
Orde Kittrie College of Law
2005-2006 Jennifer Tsukayama Department of Dance
Robert Edsall Department of Geography
2004-2005 John Rosa Asian Pacific American Studies
Laura Peck Public Programs
2003-2004 Matthew C. Whitaker Department of History
Janetta McCoy College of Design
2002-2003 Shannon Ringenbach Kinesiology
Kyle Longley College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2001-2002 Kaye Reed Anthropology
Andrew Ellis Geography