Assembly Members

The Assembly is the parliamentary branch of ASU’s Graduate Student government, and meets on a monthly basis to review executive activities, vote, and pass language on student concerns. The 38 Assembly Member seats represent over 15,000 graduate and professional students from 5 campus locations and online. Assembly members are individually responsible for understanding and communicating the interests of their schools to their respective college/school administrative leadership, and supporting Graduate Student Organization (GSO) leaders in developing our community. Collectively, the Assembly is responsible for oversight of the Executive branch’s activities, including approval of the annual GPSA ~$1,000,000 budget and student advocacy agenda, as well as monthly GPSA events, monthly GSO funding, and legislative bills.

Interested in becoming an Assembly Member?

The Assembly meets once a month, typically on the 2nd or 3rd Friday from 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM. Each Assembly member is expected to be on two different committees, which also meet once a month. The expected time commitment is an average of 3-5 hours per week including attending social events.

The procedures for becoming an Assembly member are outlined below. Please send the requested materials to the Assembly President ( via email two weeks before the next Assembly meeting.

  1. Your ASU ID number and program name as listed below.
  2. A brief (1-page max) cover letter explaining why you would like to join the Assembly.
  3. A current Resume or CV highlighting your service and research interests.
  4. Attend the next Assembly meeting. We will ask you to introduce yourself to the Assembly and tell us why you would like to join and how you would like to serve our graduate student body. Per our Bylaws, you must be present to become an Assembly Member.

If there are more candidates than seats for a given program, we will confirm the member that receives the most Assembly votes. Candidates may also apply for At-Large seats, and vacant seats are typically converted to At-Large seats in January of each year.


Current Assembly Members

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Humanities



College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences

Jake Garcia,


College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Life Sciences



College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences

Sarah Hall,


College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – At-Large



Teachers College (2 seats)

Mei Mei (Siyuan Li),



Herberger Institute for Design & the Arts (3 seats)

Ishan Garg,

Zee Wilson,



Ira A Fulton School of Engineering (7 seats)

Madhan K. Arulanandam ,

Surya Iyer,


Varun Nalam,

Siddhu Immadisetty,

Biran Singh Atwal,

K P Raj Dandamudi,



Sandra Day O’ Connor College of Law (3 seats)

Grant Hayes Frazier,

Carolina Lopez,

Chance East,



College of Integrative Sciences & Arts (formerly Letters and Sciences) (1 seat)

Jenny Holzapfel,


Cronkite School of Journalism (1 seat)



Future of Innovation in Society (1 seat)

Brittany McCall,

Health Solutions (2 seats)

Gladys Yu,

Andrew Sherrard,


New College Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences (1 seat)

Wenxi (Wency) Yang,


College of Nursing & Health Innovation (1 seat)

Tara Bautista,


Thunderbird (1 seat)



College of Public Service & Community Solutions (3 seats)

Soraya Jennings,

Daniel Jose Sanchez,



School of Sustainability (1 seat)

Nich Weller,


W.P. Carey School of Business (3 seats)

Alwin Dsouza,

Gokul Vijay,



At-Large (4 seats)

Petrit Gashi,

Leah Jones,




Leave a Reply