Assembly Members

The Assembly is the parliamentary branch of ASU’s Graduate Student government, and meets on a monthly basis to review executive activities, vote, and pass language on student concerns. The 38 Assembly Member seats represent over 15,000 graduate and professional students from 5 campus locations and online. Assembly members are individually responsible for understanding and communicating the interests of their schools to their respective college/school administrative leadership, and supporting Graduate Student Organization (GSO) leaders in developing our community. Collectively, the Assembly is responsible for oversight of the Executive branch’s activities, including approval of the annual GPSA ~$1,000,000 budget and student advocacy agenda, as well as monthly GPSA events, monthly GSO funding, and legislative bills.

Interested in becoming an Assembly Member?

The Assembly meets once a month, typically on the 2nd or 3rd Friday from 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM. Each Assembly member is expected to be on two different committees, which also meet once a month. The expected time commitment is an average of 3-5 hours per week including attending social events.

The procedures for becoming an Assembly member are outlined below. Please send the requested materials to the Assembly President (gpsaassembly@gmail.com) via email two weeks before the next Assembly meeting.

  1. Your ASU ID number and program name as listed below.
  2. A brief (1-page max) cover letter explaining why you would like to join the Assembly.
  3. A current Resume or CV highlighting your service and research interests.
  4. Attend the next Assembly meeting. We will ask you to introduce yourself to the Assembly and tell us why you would like to join and how you would like to serve our graduate student body. Per our Bylaws, you must be present to become an Assembly Member.

If there are more candidates than seats for a given program, we will confirm the member that receives the most Assembly votes. Candidates may also apply for At-Large seats, and vacant seats are typically converted to At-Large seats in January of each year.

 

Current Assembly Members

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Humanities

Vacant

 

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences

Jake Garcia, jmgarc35@asu.edu

 

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Life Sciences

Vacant

 

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences

Sarah Hall, sahall11@asu.edu

 

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – At-Large

Vacant

 

Teachers College (2 seats)

Mei Mei (Siyuan Li), siyuanl1@asu.edu

Vacant

 

Herberger Institute for Design & the Arts (3 seats)

Ishan Garg, igarg@asu.edu

Zee Wilson, zeewilson@asu.edu

Vacant

 

Ira A Fulton School of Engineering (7 seats)

Madhan K. Arulanandam , marulana@asu.edu

Surya Iyer, siyer13@asu.edu

 

Varun Nalam, vnalam@asu.edu

Siddhu Immadisetty, simmadis@asu.edu

Biran Singh Atwal, biran.atwal@asu.edu

K P Raj Dandamudi, krajphani@asu.edu

Vacant

 

Sandra Day O’ Connor College of Law (3 seats)

Grant Hayes Frazier, ghfrazie@asu.edu

Carolina Lopez, cmlope13@gmail.com

Chance East, cmeast@asu.edu

 

 

College of Integrative Sciences & Arts (formerly Letters and Sciences) (1 seat)

Jenny Holzapfel, jlgrant4@asu.edu

 

Cronkite School of Journalism (1 seat)

Vacant

 

Future of Innovation in Society (1 seat)

Brittany McCall, brittany.mccall@asu.edu

Health Solutions (2 seats)

Gladys Yu, gmyu1@asu.edu

Andrew Sherrard, asherrar@asu.edu

 

New College Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences (1 seat)

Wenxi (Wency) Yang, wyang61@asu.edu

 

College of Nursing & Health Innovation (1 seat)

Tara Bautista, tgperkin@asu.edu

 

Thunderbird (1 seat)

Vacant

 

College of Public Service & Community Solutions (3 seats)

Soraya Jennings, shjennin@asu.edu

Daniel Jose Sanchez, Daniel.Sanchez.5@asu.edu

Vacant

 

School of Sustainability (1 seat)

Nich Weller, naweller@asu.edu

 

W.P. Carey School of Business (3 seats)

Alwin Dsouza, adsouza3@asu.edu

Gokul Vijay, gokul.chakravarthy@asu.edu

Vacant

 

At-Large (4 seats)

Petrit Gashi, pgashi@asu.edu

Leah Jones, jleahjones@gmail.com

Vacant

Vacant

 

Leave a Reply